Home » Articles » 7 Coolest Final Fantasy Summons of the Entire Series

7 Coolest Final Fantasy Summons of the Entire Series

Summon monsters and Final Fantasy series are two things that can’t be separated. Since the first game, this series have introduced summon monsters as one of its selling point. Both the appearance and the strength of the summons are what believed to be able to captivate the players. And apparently, it works well to make the players keep being attached to this series up until today.

Eidolons, Espers, and Aeons; whatever the name is, described about the creatures that will aid us in battle. While there are the strong ones, there are also the weaker ones. Nevertheless, some of the summons from the entire series are cooler than the others. Here are the 7 coolest Final Fantasy summons (in my opinion) that you might have encountered in your playthrough.

1. Ifrit

Ifrit - Final Fantasy Series

Ifrit, also called Jinn and Iflyte, is a recurring summon in the Final Fantasy series with fire-elemental attribute. His signature attack is Hellfire, sometimes called Inferno or Flames of Hell, deals fire-elemental damage to all opponents. He is one of the most frequently appearing summons and also known as a rival to ice-elemental summon Shiva.

Like most summon monsters in the series, Ifrit’s appearance is different in each game, but remains somewhat similar. He has become increasingly beast-like and less-demonic looking from time to time, with Final Fantasy VIII as the starting point. And in my own opinion, although Ifrit’s design becomes scarier as the series goes, his best design is when he appears in Final Fantasy VIII.

2. Shiva

Shiva - Final Fantasy Series

Shiva is a frequently recurring ice-elemental summon in Final Fantasy series. The ice queen has appeared in almost all of the mainline Final Fantasy titles. Summon Shiva usually obtained early in the storyline and potentially becomes a powerful ally dealing ice damage signature attack called Diamond Dust. Shiva is depicted as a woman with blue skin, wearing clothing of the same color.

With summons controllable in Final Fantasy X, Shiva has the best incarnation in the game among the other games in the series. Shiva is fast and has attacks that delays enemy movements. She is also very helpful in the initial fight against Seymour.

3. Leviathan

Leviathan - Final Fantasy Series

Leviathan or also known as Levia, Leviatan, and Leviathn is a summon in Final Fantasy series which took shape of a massive sea serpent that effortlessly controls water and rules the ocean. This giant sea serpent that also looked like a dragon in some way can easily steals the attention with its majestic form along with its signature attack: Tidal Wave or also known as Tsunami, which calls on a massive wave of water.

Leviathan initially appeared in Final Fantasy II as a monster that swallowed the party. Since then, it becomes one of the most prominent summons in the series alongside Bahamut, with the title: Sea King or Lord of All Waters. In the latter titles of the series, Leviathan’s prominence diminished as Bahamut gained more popularity; but even so, its place in the players’ heart is still irreplaceable.

4. Odin

Odin - Final Fantasy Series

Odin is another recurring, very popular summon in Final Fantasy series. He is depicted as a demonic-looking knight with horns who rides his beloved horse Sleipnir to deliver a crushing blow to the enemies called Zantetsuken. Most commonly, Odin will appear and slice through enemies with his sword, cleaving them in two and inflicting Instant Death.

Odin made his debut in Final Fantasy III, and since then never absent in the series except in Final Fantasy X and Final Fantasy XV. This scary and fierce-looking knight is also one of my favorite and probably many of players who were familiar with the Final Fantasy series. Although he didn’t show any significant role in the series, his appearance and signature attack is enough to make him memorable to players.

5. Diablos

Diablos - Final Fantasy Series

Diablos or also known as Diabolos is a recurring creature in Final Fantasy series that mostly appeared as a summoned monster. Firstly appeared in Final Fantasy VIII, he is known for his signature attack: Dark Messenger. Although he might not be able to deliver a devastating attack compared to the other summons (due to his non-elemental attribute), he is still one of the most memorable summons in the series.

Although he appears in some games of the series, Diablos’ best incarnation is in Final Fantasy VIII. In Final Fantasy VIII, Diablos is a Guardian Force that resides inside a special item Magic Lamp. We can obtain Diablos as summon anytime after defeating it in battle by using the Magic Lamp. Since Final Fantasy VIII has a difficulty system which depends on our level, fighting him is harder as we gain more levels.

6. Bahamut

Bahamut - Final Fantasy Series

Bahamut, or also known as the Dragon King, is one of the most prominent summons in Final Fantasy series. It often becomes the most powerful summon obtained during the main storyline with its signature attack: Megaflare; a great breath of energy concentrated into a beam and fired to the enemies and deals non-elemental magic damage that ignores defense and evasion.

Bahamut is typically considered the strongest among the storyline summons. In Final Fantasy VII, Bahamut has different forms such as Neo Bahamut and Bahamut ZERO (Megaflare has variations corresponding to different appearance of Bahamut, including Teraflare, Gigaflare, and Exaflare). It makes Final Fantasy VII becomes the best incarnation of Bahamut in the whole series.

7. Adrammelech

Adrammelech - Final Fantasy Series

Adrammelech or also known as The Furious Spirit Emperor is a recurring creature in Ivalice universe. He is depicted as a large winged, dragon-like monster with horns, often associated with the zodiac sign Capricorn. Adrammelech has lightning-based attack, with yellow his color sign. His standard special attack is Flash Arc, and his ultimate attack is Judgment Bolt; both deal lightning-based attack.

Maybe not all Final Fantasy fans, especially the first generation players are familiar with Adrammelech. He is not as popular and well-known like Ifrit, Shiva, or Bahamut, but I think he is a good replacement for Ramuh. Firstly introduced in Final Fantasy XII, he becomes a good replacement for the thunder mage. The most captivating point about him is truly his design above all.

Read also: 5 Strongest and Most Memorable Summons in Final Fantasy Series

Summon monsters plays an important part in the entire Final Fantasy series since the first game. The summons are created to help us fighting strong enemies as well as pamper our eyes with its cool appearance. And my favorite goes to Adrammelech. Maybe nobody noticed that this Bahamut-like creature is actually a goat. With his amazing design, most people will think that he is a dragon.

Which one do you think is the coolest Final Fantasy summon? Do you have another summon to be added? Please share your thoughts in the comment below.

Sharing is Caring 🙂Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Tumblr
Share on Reddit
Written by
A fellow RPG addict who played a lot of classic masterpieces from Square, Square-Enix, and Tri-Ace. "The epoch may change, but the classics will remain eternal"

ShowDown Time!

1 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.